Engelbert Humperdinck

Engelbert Humperdinck

Singer Engelbert Humperdinck was born Arnold George Dorsey on May 2, 1936 in Madras, British India. His family moved to Leicester, England when he was ten, where he began learning the saxophone and playing in nightclubs. He recorded his first single, “I’ll Never Fall in Love Again”, in 1958. In 1965, he adopted the stage name Engelbert Humperdinck, borrowing it from a 19th-century German composer. His first real success came in Belgium when he represented England in the annual Knokke song contest. In 1967, he released the number one single “Release Me”, which was followed by two more ballads, “There Goes My Everything” and “The Last Waltz.” In 1968, he released the album A Man Without Love and the title track reached #2 on the UK Singles Chart. While he produced a string of successful albums, his attempt at a television series was less successful, with The Engelbert Humperdinck Show being cancelled after six months.

In the 1970s, Humperdinck released many of his signature songs, including “Another Time, Another Place”, “Too Beautiful to Last”, We Made It Happen”(written by Paul Anka), and “Sweetheart” (written by Barry Gibb and Maurice Gibb of the Bee Gees.) In 1976, he released “After the Lovin’” which became a top ten hit in the US and was nominated for a Grammy Award. In the 1980s, Humperdinck appeared as an actor on popular shows including The Love Boat, Hotel, and Fantasy Island. He released the double album A Lovely Way To Spend An Evening, in 1985 and followed that up with Remember, I Love You (1987), Step Into My Life (1989), and Hello Out There (1992.) In 1996, his song “Lesbian Seagull” was featured on the soundtrack of the film Beavis and Butt-head Do America.
In 2003, Humperdinck collaborated with Grammy Award-winning artist-producer Art Greenhaw to record the roots gospel album Always Hear the Harmony: The Gospel Sessions. The album includes appearances by The Light Crust Doughboys, The Jordanaires and The Blackwood Brothers. Humperdinck has continued to release albums in the new millennium including Let There Be Love (2005) and The Winding Road (2007) In 2013, he provided the vocals for the song “Ten Guitars” by The Break.

On March 17, 2014, Humperdinck released his latest studio album, Engelbert Calling. The album is comprised of duets with notable musicians including Elton John, Willie Nelson, Smokey Robinson and Kenny Rogers.

Engelbert Humperdinck contact information is available for you to look at. We have Engelbert Humperdinck’s manager information, along with her booking agents info as well. If you want the Engelbert Humperdinck email address for her management team, or booking agency, we have that available for you to view by signing up. You can find the Engelbert Humperdinck booking info and booking price here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *