Dark Tranquillity

Dark Tranquillity

Dark Tranquillity is a death metal band originating out of Gothenburg, Sweden in 1989. The band’s current lineup consists of Mikael Stanne, Niklas Sundin, Anders Jivarp, Martin Brandstrom, and Anders Iwers. The band’s past membership consists of 5 individuals. The band is recognized as the pioneers of the Gothenburg metal scene.

In 1993 the band released their debut studio album called Skydancer. Their next effort came in 1995 with the EP called Of Chaos and Eternal Night. Their second studio album followed shortly after and was called The Gallery. It is widely regarded as a classic on the death metal scene.

Dark Tranquillity released their second EP, Enter Suicidal Angels, in 1996. A year later they released their third studio album called The Mind’s 1. Dark Tranquillity’  fourth album, Projector, was nominated for a Swedish Grammy Award. A year later they released the album calle Haven and went on tour in 2001. 2002 brought about the album Damage Done and was followed up by 2005’s Character. The band released 3 more albums, with the most current being 2016’s Atoma.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *