New Kids on the Block

New Kids on the Block

New Kids on the Block, composed of band members Jordan Knight (born: May 17th, 1970 in Worcester, Massachusetts), Jonathan Knight (born: November 29, 1968 in Worcester, Massachusetts), Joey McIntyre (born: December 31st, 1972 in Needham, Massachusetts), Donnie Wahlberg (born: August 17th, 1969 in Boston, Massachusetts), and Danny Wood (born: May 14th, 1969 in Boston, Massachusetts), is an American boy band that rose to prominence in the 1980’s and 1990’s. Discovered by Maurice Starr, the group secured a record deal with Columbia Records in 1985.

The group released their debut album New Kids on the Block in 1986 to mixed reviews.  In 1988 the group released their second album Hangin’ Tough. The album was led by the single “Please Don’t Go Girl” which reached number 10 on the Billboard Hot 100. The third single “I’ll Be Loving You (Forever)” reached number 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 and rocketed the group into the spotlight.  They released a chart topping holiday album Merry, Merry Christmas followed by their most successful album Step by Step. The single “Step by Step” charted at number 1.

The group released 3 more albums from 1994 to 2012. The New Kids on the Block have gone on multiple tours including one with fellow boy band sensation The Backstreet Boys.  In 1990 they won two American Music Awards for Favorite Pop/Rock Group and Favorite Pop/Rock Album for Hangin’ Tough.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *